Skip to Main Content

What are the Stages of Bedsores?

Bedsores, also called pressure ulcers are areas of damaged skin and underlying tissue caused by staying in one position for long periods of time, for example, if you are bedridden or paralyzed. There are four stages of bedsores, with Stage 1 being the mildest, and Stage 4 being the worst condition, which could indicate signs of neglect or abuse. It is important to know what the stages of bedsores are, because these ulcers can give you indications about the level of care your loved one is or is not receiving as a nursing home resident.

Stage 1 Bedsores

Stage 1 bedsore, also known as a pressure ulcer or pressure sore, is the mildest form of a pressure injury to the skin and underlying tissue. At stage 1, the skin is intact but may appear red, discolored, or feel warm to the touch. The affected area may also be painful, firm, soft, or spongy compared to the surrounding skin.

Stage 1 pressure injuries are reversible and can often be resolved by relieving pressure on the affected area, improving circulation, and maintaining good skin care practices. It is essential to address stage 1 bedsores promptly to prevent them from progressing to more severe stages, which can lead to skin breakdown, infection, and other complications.

Stage 2 Bedsore

A stage 2 bedsore, also known as a pressure ulcer or pressure sore, is a more advanced pressure injury compared to stage 1. At stage 2, the skin is visibly damaged and may show signs of an open wound, blister, or shallow ulcer. The affected area may be red, pink, or discolored, and the surrounding skin may be tender or painful.

Stage 2 pressure injuries involve damage to the outer layer of skin (epidermis) and possibly the underlying layer of skin (dermis). These wounds are more serious than stage 1 bedsores and require proper wound care and management to prevent further progression and complications. It is essential to consult healthcare professionals for appropriate treatment and prevention strategies for stage 2 pressure ulcers.

Stage 3 Bedsore

A stage 3 bedsore, also known as a pressure ulcer or pressure sore, is a severe pressure injury that involves damage to the skin and underlying tissue. At stage 3, the wound extends through the layers of skin (epidermis and dermis) and into the subcutaneous tissue, creating a deep crater-like ulcer. The wound may appear as a deep cavity with visible subcutaneous tissue, but bones, tendons, or muscles are not exposed.

Stage 3 pressure ulcers are more serious than stage 1 and stage 2 bedsores and require prompt and appropriate medical attention. These wounds are at a higher risk of infection and other complications, so proper wound care, infection control, and pressure relief are crucial for healing and preventing further damage. Healthcare professionals can provide specialized treatment and management strategies for stage 3 pressure injuries.

Stage 4 Bedsore

A stage 4 bedsore, also known as a pressure ulcer or pressure sore, is the most severe stage of a pressure injury. At stage 4, the wound extends through all layers of the skin (epidermis, dermis, and subcutaneous tissue) and into the underlying muscle, bone, or supporting structures. The wound may appear as a deep crater-like ulcer with exposed muscle, bone, or other tissues.

Stage 4 pressure ulcers are extremely serious and can lead to significant complications, including infections, sepsis, and tissue necrosis. These wounds are often challenging to heal and require intensive medical intervention, specialized wound care, and possibly surgical treatment. Management of stage 4 bedsores focuses on preventing further tissue damage, controlling infection, promoting healing, and preventing complications.

It is crucial to seek immediate medical attention for stage 4 pressure ulcers to prevent further deterioration and improve the chances of successful treatment and recovery.